Can you eat popcorn on a vegan diet?


Popcorn has long been seen as the ultimate movie snack. It’s hard to imagine watching a blockbuster film without a seemingly endless supply of morish crunchy popcorn at bay. But can popcorn be consumed on a vegan diet?

Fortunately, it can! Popcorn is a type of maise corn that ‘pops’ when it’s heated, with the water at the core of the kernel expanding. As a result, it becomes perfectly puffy with a slightly warm hue. Popcorn is a whole grain food, making it an ideal treat for those on a plant-based diet; however, you do have to be very careful — paying close attention to toppings and flavours. Popcorn is, of course, no longer vegan when butter is added, instantly ruling out many commercial brands. That said, for the crème de la crème of the popcorn world, it’s best to buy gourmet vegan popcorn

Gourmet vegan popcorn — Handmade using all-natural ingredients

At Popcorn Passion, we make popcorn differently. Whether you’re hosting a virtual movie-night, heading to the festive-themed outdoor cinema or seeking a delicious “Friyay” treat, our Complete Collection is sure to bring you a harmony of happiness, with flavours you simply won’t want to share!

Complete Collection - Vegan Popcorn

Our vegan popcorn flavours 

Black Forest

Rich dark chocolate is lifted with the sweet flavour of cherries, bringing you the intense taste of a black forest gateau. We’ve mellowed this decadent all-plant fusion ever so slightly with lashings of caramel. It’s certainly one to be savoured!

Butterscotch and Pink Himalayan Salt

What’s more comforting than our crunchy, air-popped butterscotch popcorn? The smooth, buttery flavour is boosted with a pinch of Himalayan Pink Salt to create the perfect vegan sweet treat. The definitive popcorn for those seeking a buttery caramel creation.

Caramelised Biscuit

Deep yet distinctive caramel biscuit flavoured popcorn is soothingly wrapped in vegan caramel with an extra touch of your favourite crushed speculoos biscuit — for that all-important extra crunch.

Raspberry, White Chocolate and Coconut

This sensational combination of tangy raspberries, soothing white chocolate and refreshing coconut will practically melt in your mouth, bringing you a packet of vegan popcorn that echoes feelings of summer.

Peanut Butter

Our peanut butter popcorn is made using the finest plant-based ingredients. Velvety peanut butter caramel is folded into the popcorn before being studded with chunks of crunchy peanuts.

Vanilla Marshmallow

Chewy melted vanilla marshmallow meets morish vegan caramel in this heavenly sweet treat that’s “just the ticket” for film nights. If you’re looking for a blend of sweet and sweeter, this crowd favourite will tantalise your tastebuds.

With each popcorn flavour handmade from fresh, all-natural ingredients, you can order your vegan popcorn quickly and easily on our website, whilst five of our flavours are also gluten-free!